Sharing ConnectCAD reports
|
Command |
Workspace: Path |
|
Share Report |
Design Suite: Entertainment > ConnectCAD Share Spotlight: Spotlight > ConnectCAD Share ConnectCAD: ConnectCAD > Share |
When the design and its associated data and reporting paperwork are ready to share with clients, venues, installation managers, installers, commissioning and maintenance engineers, and others, use the Share Report command. The command uses the Vectorworks Cloud for processing and sharing. For more information, see Vectorworks Cloud Services and the online help for Vectorworks Cloud Services at https://cloud.vectorworks.net/portal/help/.
This command:
Extracts information about devices, equipment items, sockets, and circuits from the saved Vectorworks file. You can share information about all ConnectCAD objects in the file or only the objects that you select.
Uploads a report of the information to the Vectorworks Cloud Services web portal, and downloads the report to the Shared Reports folder:
Windows: C:\Users\<Username>\Vectorworks Cloud Services\Shared Reports
Mac: /Users/<Username>/Vectorworks Cloud Services/Shared Reports
The report name is the Vectorworks file name followed by the extension .connectCAD.
Emails a link accessing the report to the recipients that you specify. Using any web browser on any device (smart phone, tablet, computer, and so on), recipients display the report data, which they can navigate through, search, sort, and filter.
When a report is shared, you can:
Show the report status
Share report updates
Delete the report and notify recipients
Reshare the report for a drawing that was saved under a different file name
View the report in a web browser
To share a report:
Save the Vectorworks file, and then select the command.
When prompted, sign in to your Vectorworks account, if you are not already signed in.
The Share Report dialog box opens.
Click to show/hide the options.Click to show/hide the options.
|
Option |
Description |
|
Location |
Defaults to the Shared Reports folder in your Vectorworks Cloud Services folder. To change the location and/or file name, click the button at the end of Location to open the Select ConnectCAD report file location dialog box. The location must be somewhere in your cloud folder. |
|
Export options |
|
|
Share selected objects only |
Shares only the selected ConnectCAD objects and all objects associated with or connected to them |
|
Sharing |
Enter the email addresses of the desired recipients |
|
Link expires on |
If desired, select the option and then set an expiration date for the shared link |
|
Allow comments |
Allows recipients to comment on the report |
|
Comment statuses for this shared report |
Opens the Comment Statuses dialog box, for setting the status values to assign to comments. Default: A check mark indicates the default status name assigned to comments. You can select a different name. Name: The name of the status. When you click a status name, you can edit it inline. Actions: When you hover the cursor in a Name row, icons display. Click the edit icon Add new: Creates a new line for a status that you can name. |
|
Email me when link is visited |
If email addresses were entered in Sharing, select this option to receive emails when recipients visit the link |
|
Link |
|
|
Unique visits |
Displays the number of unique visitors to the link; see the Vectorworks Cloud Services help for details |
|
Copy Link |
Copies the displayed report link to your clipboard |
|
|
Copies the displayed QR code to your clipboard |
Enter the email addresses of report recipients, and change the default options as needed.
Click Share to send the shared link and message to the recipients.
The Share Report command displays in the menu before a report is shared. After a report is shared, the Show Shared Report Status command replaces the Share Report command (see Showing the status of a shared report).
Showing the status of a shared report
|
Command |
Workspace: Path |
|
Show Shared Report Status |
Design Suite: Entertainment > ConnectCAD Share Spotlight: Spotlight > ConnectCAD Share ConnectCAD: ConnectCAD > Share |
To show the status of a shared report:
Open the Vectorworks file, and then select the command.
The Show Shared Report Status dialog box opens, showing the:
Name of the saved report
Date the report was last updated
Email addresses of the report recipients
Location of the report
Whether the link that accesses the report has an expiration date, or comments are allowed
Link for displaying the comment statuses for the shared report
Number of times the report has been accessed (Unique visits)
If needed:
Copy the link and QR code that display the shared report.
Email the report again.
Updating a shared report
|
Command |
Workspace: Path |
|
Update Shared Report |
Design Suite: Entertainment > ConnectCAD Share Spotlight: Spotlight > ConnectCAD Share ConnectCAD: ConnectCAD > Share |
If you share a report and then change the Vectorworks file from which the report was extracted, this command shares the updated report. The previously shared report is overwritten.
To share the updated report:
Save the Vectorworks file, and then select the command.
The Update Shared Report dialog box opens. The dialog box displays the options specified in the Share Report dialog box when the report was previously shared (see Sharing ConnectCAD reports).
If needed, change the options. You can also copy the link and QR code that display the updated report when it is shared.
Deleting a shared report
|
Command |
Workspace: Path |
|
Delete Shared Report |
Design Suite: Entertainment > ConnectCAD Share Spotlight: Spotlight > ConnectCAD Share ConnectCAD: ConnectCAD > Share |
To delete a shared report and notify recipients:
Open the Vectorworks file, and then select the command.
The Delete Shared Report dialog box opens.
If needed, change the email addresses. You may want to notify previous recipients that you are deleting the shared report.
If a command in the Share menu is selected after a report has been deleted from outside Vectorworks:
A dialog box with the command name opens stating that the report is no longer available.
The Vectorworks file is no longer shared.
Resharing a report
|
Command |
Workspace: Path |
|
Reshare Report As |
Design Suite: Entertainment > ConnectCAD Share Spotlight: Spotlight > ConnectCAD Share ConnectCAD: ConnectCAD > Share |
If you share a report and then save the Vectorworks file under a different name, this command reshares the report. This is useful when a base drawing is created, and variations of that drawing are saved as different file names to serve different purposes.
To reshare a report:
Save the Vectorworks file, and then select the command.
The Share Report dialog box opens and displays the options specified for the previously shared report (see Sharing ConnectCAD reports). If you reshare the same report more than once, a numeric suffix is appended to the report name (for example, -1), so the previously shared report is not overwritten. Each time you reshare the report, the numeric suffix increases by one.
If needed, change the options. You can also copy the link and QR code that display the new report when it is shared.
Viewing a shared report in a web browser
|
Command |
Workspace: Path |
|
View Shared Report |
Design Suite: Entertainment > ConnectCAD Share Spotlight: Spotlight > ConnectCAD Share ConnectCAD: ConnectCAD > Share |
When you share a report, you can view the report in a web browser; the report is identical to the one recipients see. If you are signed in to Vectorworks, you are also signed in to the Vectorworks Cloud when you view the report in a browser.
To view a shared report in a web browser:
Open the Vectorworks file.
Select the command.
The report opens in a web browser. See the online help for Vectorworks Cloud Services to view, navigate, measure, and comment on the shared report.
If the shared report has comments, you can also display the report in a web browser by opening the Shared Document Comments web palette, selecting the report from the Shared set list, and then clicking the
View on Cloud icon. (See Viewing comments on shared files.)

to edit the status name inline. Click the d
to remove the status name from the list. Hover the cursor over the m
to drag the row up or down.