Saving palette positions and settings

Command

Path

Save Palette Positions to Workspace

Window

You can save a set of palette positions and settings for the current workspace to a custom workspace in your [User or Workgroup]\Workspaces folder. This is especially useful for a CAD manager who creates customized workspaces—including palette settings—to be shared with all new users or if you are preparing to migrate custom workspaces to a new version of Vectorworks.

Each time an individual user exits the Vectorworks program, the current palette settings and positions for each workspace are automatically saved in an .xml file in the [User]\Settings folder. The settings in this file override the settings in the custom workspace .vww file, so the next time you open Vectorworks, the palettes are exactly as you last left them.

To reset to the default Vectorworks workspace settings, select Window > Reset Palette Positions to Default, or click Reset Saved Settings from the Vectorworks preferences: Session pane.

Only workspaces with the same name as a default Vectorworks workspace can be reset; workspaces with custom names have no default to reset to.

To save palette positions and settings for a workspace:

Display or hide palettes and tabs, and set palette positions as desired; see Palette features.

For tool palettes, set the tool and tool set display and sort style, and the tool set placement option; see Tool palette features.

For the Object Info palette, select the tab to be active upon opening, and manually position the separator in the Data tab.

For the Resource Manager, set the resource display style, position the pane separators, and set which panes are open; see Resource Manager.

For the Navigation palette (Vectorworks Design Suite product required), the Visualization palette, and others with multiple tabs, select the tab to be active upon opening.

For web palettes, such as the AI Visualizer, AI Assistant, and others, set each to be open or closed upon opening Vectorworks, and size and position them as desired. 

Once palettes are positioned and settings have been established, select the command. A message displays the location of the file where the custom workspace was saved.

Alternatively, when editing the current workspace in the Workspace Editor dialog box, ensure that Save current palette positions and sizes to workspace is selected to save the settings; see Modifying commands and tools in a workspace

Palettes and tool sets

Application window

Customizing workspaces

 

Was this page helpful?