Palette features

You can set up the palettes, and the individual tabs in multiple-tab palettes, to make the most of your working space and keep the elements and tools you use most where you want them.

Most palettes and tabs can be resized by the standard Windows or Mac resize method.

On a Mac, to resize a floating palette to half of the width of the application window, hold down the Option key while dragging the palette; a rectangle displays around the left or right half of the window where the palette is floating. Release the mouse button or mouse pad on the side of the window where you want to place the resized palette.

Palettes, and the individual tabs on multiple-tab palettes, can be hidden when not needed (see Displaying and hiding palettes and tabs).

Individual tabs can be detached from multiple-tab palettes and positioned as needed, or their order can be resequenced within the palette (see Detaching and returning palette tabs).

Palettes and detached tabs can be docked to the application window and to each other (see Docking palettes).

Tool palettes have a special set of features, as described in Tool palette features.

The following controls are available from the title bar of most palettes:

Utility menu  : Contains options to control the palette display, as well as other functions specific to the palette. Select Send to from the menu, and then select whether to dock the palette to any of the four docking bars. If the palette displays tabs, select Tab Style, and then select whether to display an Icon Only, Text Only, or an Icon and Text on the tabs.

Auto hide button (Windows only)  : Toggles between a display that is always full-sized, or a display that is minimized unless the cursor is over the palette (see Hiding palettes temporarily).

Minimize/maximize buttons (Mac only)  : For floating palettes and detached tabs, toggles between a full-sized or minimized display (see Hiding palettes temporarily).

Context menu (Windows only): Right-click the title bar to access options to dock, auto-hide, or hide the palette.

Each time you exit the Vectorworks program, the current palette settings and positions are automatically saved for each workspace in a file in your user folder ([User]\Settings\SavedSettings.xml). The settings in this user file override the initial palette settings in the workspace file. To reset to the original workspace settings, click Reset Saved Settings from the Vectorworks preferences: Session pane.

Palettes and tool sets

Saving palette positions and settings

Application window

 

Was this page helpful?